Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Saturday, June 28 - 10:30am

10:30am - 12:00pm
Margaret A. Edwards Brunch [$] Author Event, Ticketed event Las Vegas Hotel
Ballroom B
Description :

NEW TIME!! Come join us for brunch and listen to Markus Zusak, winner of the 2014 Margaret A. Edwards Award, speak about his writing. The award honors Zusak's significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens, for his books “The Book Thief,” “Fighting Ruben Wolfe,” “Getting the Girl,” and “I Am the Messenger”. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine.

Cost :
39

Sunday, June 29 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
YA Author Coffee Klatch [$] Author Event, Ticketed event Las Vegas Hotel
Ballroom C
Description :

Enjoy coffee and meet with YALSA's award winning authors! This informal coffee klatch will give you an opportunity to meet authors who have appeared on one of YALSA’s six annual selected lists or have received one of YALSA's five literary awards. Librarians will sit at a table and every 3 or 4 minutes, a new author will arrive at your table to talk! Participating authors include: Josephine Angelini, Paolo Bacigalupi, Leigh Bardugo, Jessica Brody, Ally Condie, Jim Di Bartolo, Matt de la Pena, Matt Dembicki, Becca Fitzpatrick, Jonathan Friesen, Carol Goodman, Alan Gratz, Claudia Gray, Collen Gleason, Ryan Graudin, Nathan Hale, Jenny Han, PJ Hoover, Katherine Howe, Lindsey Leavitt, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Lauren Myracle, Blake Nelson, Jandy Nelson, Caragh O'Brien, Mary Pearson, Jason Reynolds, Graham Salisbury, Neal Shusterman, Jon Scieszka, Marcus Sedgwick, Clare Vanderpool, Scott Westerfeld, Cat Winters, and Meg Wolitzer.

Cost :
25

Saturday, June 28 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Ryan Graudin (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

The Walled City

There are three rules in the Walled City: Run fast. Trust no one. Always carry your knife. Right now, my life depends completely on the first. Run, run, run.

Jin, Mei Yee, and Dai all live in the Walled City, a lawless labyrinth run by crime lords and overrun by street gangs. Teens there traffic drugs or work in brothels--or, like Jin, hide under the radar. But when Dai offers Jin a chance to find her lost sister, Mei Yee, she begins a breathtaking race against the clock to escape the Walled City itself.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 4:30pm

4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Kate Jarvik Birch (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Perfected
For fans of Keira Cass’s Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 12:30pm

12:30pm - 1:00pm
Meet the Authors: Albert Monreal Quihuis & Veronica Lamanes (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

El Día Maravilloso de Hacer Tamales que Tuvo Sofía
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 10:30am

10:30am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Veronica Reyes (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Chopper! Chopper!
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 6:00pm

6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Scott Sonneborn (Capstone) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 462
Description :

Frankenstein Journals and The Good, the Bad, and the Monkeys

Frankenstein Journals - JD discovers why he never fit in at the creepy orphanage.
The Good, the Bad and the Monkeys - Can Jake stop a crew of monkey rustlers?

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 12:30pm

12:30pm - 1:30pm
Meet the Authors: Susann Cokal (Candlewick Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 602
Description :

The Kingdom of Little Wounds
A young seamstress and a royal nursemaid find themselves at the center of an epic power struggle. 2014 Printz Honor Book

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 1:30pm

1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Gustavo Florentin (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

In the Talons of the Condor
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 30 - 10:00am

10:00am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Ana Campos (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Pasaporte de Vida
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Dreams of Gods & Monsters

In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she's ever known.

When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat--and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves--maybe even toward love.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: Stephen Pastis (Candlewick Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 602
Description :

Timmy Failure: We Meet Again
From the New York Times best-selling creator of Timmy Failure comes a third adventure about the comically overconfident sleuth.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 9:30am

9:30am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Laurie Ann Guerrero (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

A Tongue in the Mouth of the Dying
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Shari Shattuck (Penguin Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 449
Description :

Invisible Ellen

A remarkable novel about personal transformation, morality, the power of friendship, and the human need for connection with others.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Elaine Viets (Penguin Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 449
Description :

Catnapped!
The latest in the Dead-End Job Mystery series, featuring Husband and wife PI team Helen Hawthorne and Phil Sagemont!

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Cecilia Velástegui (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Olinguito Speaks Up
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 4:00pm

4:00pm - 4:30pm
Meet the Authors: Jorge Majfud (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Crisis
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Dianne de las Casas (Children's Plus Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 342
Description :

Cinderellaphant

An adaptation of the traditional tale of Cinderella with animals rather than humans as characters.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Julie Downing (Creston Books / PGW) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

Don't Turn the Page!
Two bedtime stories in one, playing on the idea of who's reading about whom with a surprise ending.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Dylan Landis (Soho Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 646
Description :

Rainey Royals
Soho's lead literary title for the fall, Rainey Royal is told in 14 narratives of scarred and luminous beauty that build into a fiercely powerful novel: the harrowing, heartbreaking and ultimately affirming story of a young artist.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages