Author Event Sessions

Timesort descending Title Type Location

Friday, June 27 - 4:30pm

4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Saroj Nadkami Ghoting & Kathy Fling Klatt (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

STEP into Storytime: Using StoryTime Effective Practice to Strengthen the Development of Newborns to Five-Year-Olds
Story Time Effective Practice (STEP), developed by the authors, is an approach that articulates the link between child development theory and storytimes. This important resource shows how presenters can use STEP to craft a storytime that is effective for mixed-age groups and adheres to best practices for emotional, social, physical, and cognitive support.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Linda L. Ernst (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

Baby Rhyming Time
The renowned authority on library services for the very youngest patrons has done it again! Linda Ernst has created programming based on the most important findings in babies' brain development. This new resource is full of activities that stimulate infants' and toddlers' cognitive, physical, and emotional growth.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Dawn R. Roginski (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

A Year in the Story Room: Ready-to-Use Programs for Children
Infants and toddlers, pre-readers, and emergent readers all have different needs, and who has time to dig through a multitude of resources to gather suitable programming materials? Roginski offers the perfect solution with this all-in-one planner for young children, providing everything needed for a year's worth of story room fun.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Kate Jarvik Birch (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Perfected
For fans of Keira Cass’s Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Beth Yarnall (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Dyed and Gone
Hairstylist Azalea March is looking forward to a wild weekend in Las Vegas with her friends. But fun quickly turns to drama. Azalea now has to convince Alex, the sexy detective from her past, to help her prove Vivian’s innocence and comb through clues more twisted than a spiral perm. But the truth is stranger than anything found on the Las Vegas Strip, and proving Vivian’s innocence turns out to be more difficult than transforming a brunette into a blonde.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Betsy Diamant-Cohen (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

Transforming Preschool Storytime: A Modern Vision and a Year of Programs
This book presents a new approach to storytime, one that employs repetition with variety to create an experience which helps children connect and engage with the story on a higher level. It offers a year’s worth of activities specifically designed to address multiple intelligences through a repetition-based process.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Friday, June 27 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Chris Campanioni (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Going Down

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Dreams of Gods & Monsters

In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she's ever known.

When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat--and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves--maybe even toward love.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Dawn Wells (Rowman & Littlefield) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 735
Description :

What Would Mary Ann Do?: A Good Girl's Guide to Life
So, what would Mary Ann do?

As the sweet Mary Ann Summers from Kansas in the hit series Gilligan’s Island, Dawn Wells created a beloved character that still connects with people 50 years later. As the “good girl” among the group of castaways on a tiny island, she was often positioned against the glamorous and exotic Ginger Grant prompting many to ask: Are you a Ginger or a Mary Ann?

This book not only helps readers answer that question for themselves but also sends the inspirational and heartwarming message that yes, good girls do finish first.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Manuel Ramos (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Desperado: A Mile High Noir

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Crystal Smith (East West Discovery Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2059
Description :

Daddy, My Favorite Guy
“Daddy, My Favorite Guy” is a beautiful and poignant reassurance of a father’s unconditional love. Daddy cooks, cleans, reads, and plays with his children. He is funny, caring, and understanding. This heartfelt story is told in three rhyming bilingual editions - English and Spanish, English and Chinese, English and Nepali.

A Mom’s Choice Gold Award Winner and a finalist of the 2014 International Latino Book Awards in the Most Inspirational Children’s Picture Book and Best Poetry Book categories.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Mary Weber (Thomas Nelson) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 511
Description :

Storm Siren
Seventeen-year-old slave girl, Nym, should not exist. In a world where Elementals are only born male, and always killed at birth, she is an anomaly at best. At worst, people around her die.

Nym must decide whom to trust as she’s unleashed into a world of assassins and political betrayal surrounding a young king fighting for his throne, a tired nation that has forgotten its calling, and her handsome tutor whose dark secrets could destroy both her people and her heart.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Nikki McClure (Abrams Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 628
Description :

May the Stars Drip Down
"May the Stars Drip Down," a gorgeous lullaby by indie rock band Cub Country, is now adapted into this beautiful bedtime book with illustrations by the acclaimed cut-paper artist Nikki McClure. Her tender and intricate images, inspired by nature and the intense bond between parent and child, perfectly complement musician Jeremy Chatelain’s soothing lyrics. An audio download of the song is also included.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Bonnie S Mata (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Just A Kiss

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Kathryn Otoshi (KO Kids / Publishers Group West) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

Two
TWO's best friend is ONE. But then THREE comes to play, but only with ONE. What happens then? A story about friendship, loss, and self-discovery. Kathryn Otoshi will be signing f&g's of her forthcoming new title.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Lidia Morris & Luis Rosado (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Desarrollo del Español para Maestros en Programas de Educación Bilingüe

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Armando Rendon (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Noldo and his Magical Scooter at the Battle of The Alamo

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Duplicate: Meet the Authors: Jane Cleland (Macmillan-Adult) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 528
Description :

Duplicate session, please see http://ala14.ala.org/node/15832

Blood Rubies
The ninth book in Jane K. Cleland's mystery series featuring an amateur sleuth/antiques appraiser in New Hampshire

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Juana Bordas (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Power of Latino Leadership

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Melanie R Martel (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Stars of the Savanna

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages