Author Event Sessions

Timesort descending Title Type Location

Friday, June 27 - 4:30pm

4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Kate Jarvik Birch (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Perfected
For fans of Keira Cass’s Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Betsy Diamant-Cohen (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

Transforming Preschool Storytime: A Modern Vision and a Year of Programs
This book presents a new approach to storytime, one that employs repetition with variety to create an experience which helps children connect and engage with the story on a higher level. It offers a year’s worth of activities specifically designed to address multiple intelligences through a repetition-based process.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Beth Yarnall (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Dyed and Gone
Hairstylist Azalea March is looking forward to a wild weekend in Las Vegas with her friends. But fun quickly turns to drama. Azalea now has to convince Alex, the sexy detective from her past, to help her prove Vivian’s innocence and comb through clues more twisted than a spiral perm. But the truth is stranger than anything found on the Las Vegas Strip, and proving Vivian’s innocence turns out to be more difficult than transforming a brunette into a blonde.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Saroj Nadkami Ghoting & Kathy Fling Klatt (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

STEP into Storytime: Using StoryTime Effective Practice to Strengthen the Development of Newborns to Five-Year-Olds
Story Time Effective Practice (STEP), developed by the authors, is an approach that articulates the link between child development theory and storytimes. This important resource shows how presenters can use STEP to craft a storytime that is effective for mixed-age groups and adheres to best practices for emotional, social, physical, and cognitive support.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Linda L. Ernst (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

Baby Rhyming Time
The renowned authority on library services for the very youngest patrons has done it again! Linda Ernst has created programming based on the most important findings in babies' brain development. This new resource is full of activities that stimulate infants' and toddlers' cognitive, physical, and emotional growth.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Dawn R. Roginski (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

A Year in the Story Room: Ready-to-Use Programs for Children
Infants and toddlers, pre-readers, and emergent readers all have different needs, and who has time to dig through a multitude of resources to gather suitable programming materials? Roginski offers the perfect solution with this all-in-one planner for young children, providing everything needed for a year's worth of story room fun.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Friday, June 27 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Hannah Dennison (Macmillan-Adult) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 528
Description :

Murder at Honeychurch Hall
In the tradition of Louise Penny and G.M. Malliet, a charming and witty whodunit, first in a series, set at an English manor house.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Nikki McClure (Abrams Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 628
Description :

May the Stars Drip Down
"May the Stars Drip Down," a gorgeous lullaby by indie rock band Cub Country, is now adapted into this beautiful bedtime book with illustrations by the acclaimed cut-paper artist Nikki McClure. Her tender and intricate images, inspired by nature and the intense bond between parent and child, perfectly complement musician Jeremy Chatelain’s soothing lyrics. An audio download of the song is also included.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Kathryn Otoshi (KO Kids / Publishers Group West) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

Two
TWO's best friend is ONE. But then THREE comes to play, but only with ONE. What happens then? A story about friendship, loss, and self-discovery. Kathryn Otoshi will be signing f&g's of her forthcoming new title.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Jane Cleland (Macmillan - Adult) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 528
Description :

Blood Rubies
The ninth book in Jane K. Cleland's mystery series featuring an amateur sleuth/antiques appraiser in New Hampshire

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Mario Acevedo & Richard Kilborn (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Good Money Gone

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Veronica Reyes (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Chopper! Chopper!

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Icy Smith (East West Discovery Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2059
Description :

Three Years and Eight Months
Based on true events during World War II, "Three Years and Eight Months" tells a compelling journey of hardships and human endurance of ordinary people in Hong Kong during the Japanese occupation. A 10-year-old Chinese American boy secretly joins the Chinese war resistance group to help save the lives of thousands of prisoners of war, as well as allied forces. The book extensive historical notes and photographs documenting the Japanese occupation in Hong Kong from 1942 to 1945.

2014 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) Choices, 3 book award gold medalists, etc.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Jaime Alvarez (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Collective Works of Jaime Alvarez: Featuring “Sayings of My Mother”

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Rick Najera (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Almost White: Forced Confessions of a Latino in Hollywood

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Benjamin DeHaven (Midpoint Trade Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 226
Description :

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Lunge into a funny, audacious, and devastating work of fiction based on factual events. As much a comedy as a tragedy, “Confessions is a unique piece of literature to be remembered for its originality as much as for its significance as a statement about living life in today’s harsh reality.” Explore the psyche of one of the world's most profound advisors: a Quixotic adventurer who admits freely to lurid depravity, substance abuse, and emotional complexity. Despite personal demons, he’s fooled adherents into a unique reverence and might be responsible for saving more souls than Mother Teresa and Gandhi combined.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Chris Campanioni (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Going Down

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Laura Lane McNeal (Penguin Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 449
Description :

Dollbaby
A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Manuel Ramos (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Desperado: A Mile High Noir

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Dreams of Gods & Monsters

In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she's ever known.

When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat--and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves--maybe even toward love.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages