Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Location

Sunday, June 29 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Lois Lowry (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 403
Description :

The Giver
Soon to be a major motion picture, The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 430
Description :

The Raven Cycle Series
Fiction

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Marc Brown (Mackin Educational Resources) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1643
Description :

In New York
An eight-year-old boy boards a train with his family in Erie, Pennsylvania, and in the morning he wakes up in New York City, fascinated by all the sights and sounds he finds there, such as in Central Park, downtown, and in the variety of people on the streets.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Margaret Brownley, Robin Lee Hatcher, & Debra Clopton (Thomas Nelson) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 511
Description :

Four Weddings and a Kiss
Inspirational romance authors Robin Lee Hatcher, Mary Connealy, Debra Clopton, and Margaret Brownley team up to share four stories of brides on the western frontier.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Oliver Jeffers (Penguin Young Readers Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 442-443
Description :

The Day the Crayons Quit
Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me — now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Paul Huljich (Midpoint Trade Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 226
Description :

Stress Pandemic
Written for the growing number of people wishing to free themselves of mild, moderate, or severe stress, STRESS PANDEMIC outlines a practical, effective and proven approach to achieving complete wellness and longevity. Paul Huljich offers a comprehensive lifestyle solution designed to break the cycle of stress and heal ongoing pain, while fortifying and empowering the body and the mind. By adopting the unique LifeReStyle process, readers can take back control of their lives and find freedom in today’s increasingly demanding world.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: PJ Hoover (CBAY Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 477
Description :

The Emerald Tablet
Benjamin is different from other kids – he can read minds and use telekinesis. But it isn’t until he’s sent to summer school on a hidden underwater continent that he learns the truth. It turns out, Benjamin isn’t really human at all – and the powers he thought made him special, just make him normal. But the mysterious Emerald Tablet chooses him as its champion, and he’s thrust into a mission to save the world. Filled with mythology, adventure and super-powers, the Emerald Tablet is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Shirley Duke (ABDO) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1071
Description :

Cells
Life on Earth is endlessly amazing and complex! This Core Library title follows the function of cells, how they’re made, and the English scientist, Robert Hooke, who discovered them. Full-color photos, a glossary, an index, sidebars, primary source documents, and other creative content enhance the book. It also includes prompts and activities that engage students in developing the reading, writing, and critical thinking skills required by the Common Core standards for grades 3–6. Well-researched, this title has a credentialed content consultant and aligns with state standards. Brought to you by Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Tom Lichtenheld (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

This is a Moose

MOOSE? Yes, Moose! When a movie director tries to capture the life of a moose on film, he's in for a big surprise. It turns out the moose has a dream bigger then just being a moose--he wants to be an astronaut and go to the moon.

His forest friends step in to help him, and action ensues. Lots of action. Like a lacrosse-playing grandma, a gigantic slingshot into space, and a flying, superhero chipmunk.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Tyler Whitesides (Shadow Mountain) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 227
Description :

Janitors 4: Strike of the Sweepers
The stakes have never been higher, and you’ve never seen squeegees do this before! It is a wild and slightly unsanitary ride as Spencer, Daisy, and the rebels find themselves chased by Mr. Clean’s new and terrifying breed of toxite—the Sweepers. Time is short. With the fabled Manualis Custodem in hand, Spencer must figure out how to summon the founding witches if they ever hope to mop up and save education.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Varsha Bajaj (Albert Whitman & Company) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 517
Description :

Abby Spencer Goes to Bollywood
What thirteen-year-old Abby wants most is to meet her father. She just never imagined he would be a huge film star...in Bollywood. Traveling to Mumbai to meet her famous father, Abby is overwhelmed by the culture clash. But as she learns to navigate her new surroundings she just might discover where she really belongs.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Xavier Garza (Arte Público Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 225
Description :

Kid Cyclone Fights the Devil and Other Stories/Kid Ciclón se enfrenta a el Diablo y otras historias

Cousins Maya and Vincent are thrilled to be ring side at a lucha libre match. Kid Cyclone, the wrestling world’s favorite hero who also happens to be the kids’ beloved uncle, is facing off against a devil-masked opponent, El Diablo. “No masked devil can beat my uncle. Not even the real devil himself,” declares Maya.

But the real devil doesn’t take kindly to such disrespect, and soon Kid Cyclone finds himself fighting the most hellish challenger of all! Popular kids’ book author Xavier Garza returns with another collection of stories featuring spooky characters from Mexican-American folklore.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Denise Brennan-Nelson (Sleeping Bear Press/Cherry Lake Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 224
Description :

Teach Me To Love
Animal or human, babies are eager to learn new things, especially about our great big world and life in general. Now these tender
"Teach me how to..." moments between parent and offspring come to life in animal family photos and gentle verse.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Gregory Pergament (Consortium Book Sales & Distribution) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 343
Description :

Chi Kung in Recovery
Chi kung, the art of cultivating life force energy, is here distilled into a key selection of exercises designed to boost health and increase mind-body-spirit consciousness. For anyone interested in exercise with a deeper spiritual significance, this step-by-step guide takes readers through essential breathing, meditation, and mindfulness techniques that yield exponentially more powerful benefits than traditional exercise.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 1:30pm

1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Anne Osterlund (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Salvation
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Gustavo Florentin (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

In the Talons of the Condor
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Icy Smith & Crystal Smith (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Daddy, My Favorite Guy
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Janet Breceda-Wright & A.E. Wright (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Audacious Little Princesses
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Jon Klassen & Mac Barnett (HarperCollins Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 503
Description :

Extra Yarn
A young girl and her magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book by picture book stars Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
1:30pm - 2:30pm
Meet the Authors: Brooklyn Skye (Entangled Publishing) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 536
Description :

Fragile Line
Sixteen-year-old Ellie Cox is losing time. It started out small…forgetting a drive home or a conversation with a friend. But her blackouts are getting worse, more difficult to disguise as forgetfulness. When Ellie goes missing for three days, waking up in the apartment of a mysterious guy—a guy who is definitely not her boyfriend—her life starts to spiral out of control.

Perched on the edge of insanity, with horrific memories of her childhood leaking in, Ellie struggles to put together the pieces of what she’s lost—starting with the name haunting her, Gwen.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages