Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Sunday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Cece Bell (Abrams Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 628
Description :

El Deafo
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this poignant graphic novel memoir, Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid. It gives Cece the ability to hear but also isolates her from her classmates. After some trouble, she is finally able to declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Kid Chef Eliana (Children's Plus Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 342
Description :

Cool Kids Cook: Fresh and Fit

Whip up nutritious meals with America's favorite kid chef! Wholesome, fresh, and flavorful ingredients are the focus in these tasty dishes. Children (and adults) can prepare these international recipes with ease.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Cathy Ace (TouchWood Editions / PGW) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

The Corpse With the Platinum Hair (#4 in the Cait Morgan Mystery Series)
The author will be signing free ARCs of the 4th book in the classic whodunit series in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Sue Grafton. Eccentric criminologist and foodie Cait Morgan and her significant other, retired cop Bud Anderson, travel to Las Vegas. As they dine in the casino owners’ exclusive private dining room, a woman acknowledged as Queen of The Strip, is murdered. Security locks down the room, and Cait, Bud, a corpse, and ten possible murderers are trapped for hours while the bodies pile up, the tension mounts, and the list of suspects dwindles....

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:30pm

3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meet the Authors: Nick Bruel (Children's Plus Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 342
Description :

Bad Kitty School Daze

When Kitty's owners have finally had enough of her bad behavior, it's time to ship her off to obedience school.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 2:30pm
Meet the Authors: Markus Zusak (Random House Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 543
Description :

The Book Thief
Winner of the 2014 Margaret Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievment!

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Sarah Ban Breathnach (Perseus Distribution) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 335
Description :

The Best Part of the Day

In her international bestseller Simple Abundance, Sarah Ban Breathnach inspired millions of women to find happiness in each day of their lives. Now Breathnach is back with her first children’s book: The Best Part of the Day. Beautifully illustrated and lyrically written, this “good night” story encourages children to find at least one moment in every day that is worthy of celebration. The Best Part of the Day is the perfect addition to any family’s nighttime routine.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: David Levithan (Random House Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 543
Description :

Two Boys Kissing
2014 Stonewall Award Honor Book!

The Los Angeles Times called Two Boys Kissing "Open, frank and ultimately optimistic," and Entertainment Weekly gave the novel an A-. With Levithan's trademark sharp-witted, warm-hearted tales of teenage love, Two Boys Kissing will appeal to fans of Levithan's breakthrough debut, Boy Meets Boy, which celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2013.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Friday, June 27 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Bonnie S Mata (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Just A Kiss

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: K.G.Campbell (Kids Can Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 650
Description :

Lester's Dreadful Sweaters
K.G. Campbell is the illustrator of the Newbery Medal-winning Flora and Ulysses.

A fastidious fellow, Lester likes everything just so. So when Cousin Clara moves in and knits him truly dreadful sweaters as fast as he can surreptitiously dispose of them, Lester must think of a way to get rid of them for good — or be doomed to look like a clown forever.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Lidia Morris & Luis A Rosado (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Desarrollo del Español para Maestros en Programas de Educación Bilingüe

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Ilima Todd (Shadow Mountain) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 227
Description :

Remake
Imagine a future without family.
Nine is the ninth female born in her batch of ten females and ten males. By design, her life in Freedom Province is without complications or consequences. However, such freedom comes with a price, and that price is kept secret.
But Nine isn’t like other batchers. She harbors indecision about her Remake Day.
When Nine discovers the truth about life outside of Freedom, she is pulled between two worlds and two lives. Her decisions will test her courage and heart. Who can she trust? Who does she love? And who will she decide to be?

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:30pm

2:30pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Rene Colato Laine (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Señor Pancho Has a Rancho
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 12:00pm

12:00pm - 1:00pm
Meet the Authors: Suzanne Bloom (Boyds Mills Press/Highlights Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 569
Description :

FOX FORGETS

Goose has an important message for Bear, and he asks Fox to deliver it. But Fox has her mind on other things—which only leaves Bear to wonder and worry. Fortunately, in the end, these friends are as good at forgiving as they are at forgetting. Fox gets a starring role in this warmhearted and beautifully simple story about the meaning of being responsible. Featuring gentle humor and charm, this latest entry in Suzanne Bloom’s acclaimed Goose and Bear series will help children build foundations for friendship, empathy, and cooperation.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Graciela Tiscareño-Soto (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Good Night Captain Mama
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Kendall Kulper (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Salt & Storm

Sixteen-year-old Avery Roe wants only to take her rightful place as the witch of Prince Island, making the charms that keep the island's whalers safe at sea, but her mother has forced her into a magic-free world of proper manners and respectability. When Avery dreams she's to be murdered, she knows time is running out to unlock her magic and save herself.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Richard McFarland (Independent Publishers Group / Flashlight Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 232
Description :

Grandfather's Wrinkles
In a conversation with his toddler granddaughter Lucy, Grandfather explains the origin of each of the "crinkles" on his "crunchy" face: "Every time I smiled an extra big smile, I got a wrinkle to show for it."

Grandfather's memories of these happy events are shown in full-spread illustrations, alternating with close-ups of Lucy on Grandfather's lap. Her pudgy fingers softly tracing each crease intriguingly contrast with the lined old skin on his face. After hearing this sweet, simple story, children will be delighted to use Lucy's method to learn more about their own grandparents' memories.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Kean Soo (Capstone) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 462
Description :

Jellaby: The Lost Monster

Quiet but bright Portia has just moved to a new neighborhood with her mom. Adjusting to life without a father is hard enough, but school is boring and her classmates are standoffish -- and even Portia's mom is sort of distant. But things start to get better when Portia mounts a midnight excursion into the woods behind her house where she discovers a shy and sweet purple monster.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 30 - 9:00am

9:00am - 9:30am
Meet the Authors: Joseph Gutiz (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Adventures of Chubby Cheeks: The Pro Quest
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Daniel Beaty & Bryan Collier (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Knock, Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me

WINNER OF THE 2014 CSK ILLUSTRATION AWARD

Every morning, I play a game with my father.
He goes knock knock on my door
and I pretend to be asleep
till he gets right next to the bed.
And my papa, he tells me, "I love you."

But what happens when, one day, that "knock knock" doesn't come? This powerful and inspiring book shows the love that an absent parent can leave behind, and the strength that children find in themselves as they grow up and follow their dreams.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Hunter Maats & Katie O'Brien (Tutor.com) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1243
Description :

The Straight-A Conspiracy: Your Secret Guide to Ending the Stress of School and Totally Ruling the World
For centuries, students worldwide have been tricked into making school more difficult, more stressful, and less successful than it needs to be. In reality, they already have the ability to make anything that they do in school easy. From writing essays to mastering any math concept to acing even the most difficult final exam, Hunter Maats and Katie O'Brien's The Straight-A Conspiracy takes students through the simple, stress-free ways to conquer any class in school.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages