Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Saturday, June 28 - 2:30pm

2:30pm - 3:30pm
Meet the Authors: Jo Schneider (Independent Publishers Group / Jolly Fish) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 232
Description :

New Sight
A YA urban fantasy that combines modern drama with classic themes of addiction and suspense. New Sight reinvents the underlying factor in all fantasy novels: magic. Instead of being wondrous and innocent, magic is treacherous, self-gratifying and extremely dangerous. Comparable to Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 2:45pm
Meet the Authors: Emily Jiang (Lee & Low Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 626
Description :

Summoning the Phoenix: Poems and Prose About Chinese Musical Instruments
This is a delightful collection of poems about Chinese musical instruments, many of which are thousands of years old.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Alejandra Campos (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

I, Legal in the U.S.A.
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Meg Wolitzer (Penguin Young Readers Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 442-443
Description :

Belzhar
From New York Times bestselling author Meg Wolitzer comes her debut YA novel, a breathtaking and surprising story about first love, deep sorrow, and the power of acceptance.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 1:45pm
Meet the Authors: René Colato Laínez (Lee & Low Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 626
Description :

From North to South / Del Norte al Sur
This critically acclaimed bilingual picture book deals tenderly and honestly with issues of immigration, deportation, and family separation.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 30 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Paul Fleischman (HarperCollins Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 503
Description :

Seedfolks
The acclaimed, best-selling story of thirteen very different people who start a garden as strangers, and come away a community.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 3:30pm

3:30pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: Meg Medina (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: Avi (Mackin Educational Resources) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1643
Description :

Seer of Shadows & Ragweed
14-year-old Horace Carpetine is an apprentice to a New York City photographer who tries to get rich pretending to photograph the images of ghosts. Although Horace firmly believes in rationality, he takes a portrait of wealthy society matron Mrs. Frederick Von Macht and sees the ghost of her dead daughter, Eleanora. He soon discovers that Eleanora wants revenge for the way she died. / Ragweed is determined to see the world. He leaves his family and cozy country home and sets off by train for the big city.cunning, carnivorous cats!

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Monday, June 30 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Paul Fleischman (Candlewick Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 602
Description :

Eyes Wide Open
Paul Fleischman offers teens an environmental wake-up call and a tool kit for decoding the barrage of conflicting information confronting them.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 1:30pm

1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Janet Breceda-Wright & A.E. Wright (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Audacious Little Princesses
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 6:00pm

6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Shirin Yim Bridges (Goosebottom Books / PGW) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

Agrippina "Atrocious and Ferocious"
From ALA Top 10 Nonfiction Series, The Thinking Girl’s Treasury of Dastardly Dames, AGRIPPINA "ATROCIOUS AND FEROCIOUS" brings to life an ambitious Roman empress who murdered and married her way to the throne—and to being declared a goddess. She made many enemies, including her own son, the emperor Nero. But was there also something in her to admire?

Gorgeous illustrations and an intelligent, evocative story by Ezra Jack Keats award-winning author Shirin Yim Bridges, bring to life a dastardly dame whose lust for power lost her the love of her people, and eventually, her life.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Abbie Schiller (The Mother Company) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 312
Description :

Casey Caterpillar Feels Left Out
Sweet little Casey Caterpillar feels left out when Lucy Ladybug and Bette Bumblebee play Air Acrobatics; because Casey doesn't yet have wings! When Mentor Bailey Butterfly encourages Casey to share how she feels, the whole gang learns an important lesson about empathy.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 11:30am

11:30am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Tim Z Hernandez (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Mañana Means Heaven
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 10:30am

10:30am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Angela Dominguez (Holiday House) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 415
Description :

Carmen Learns English
The first day of school can be scary, especially when no one else speaks your language. Carmen, who knows only Spanish, realizes she must be brave. Luckily Carmen has help from her new teacher and friends, even though her teacher's Spanish is muy terrible! With a little encouragement from la Señora, Carmen teaches the class Spanish words and numbers, and she in turn learns English from her new friends.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
CANCELLED: Meet the Authors: Cassandra Clare (Simon & Schuster, Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 302-303
Description :

The Mortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire
Shadowhunters and demons square off for the final showdown in the spellbinding, seductive conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)
3:00pm - 3:30pm
Meet the Authors: Mike DeSantis (VanitaBooks) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 313
Description :

Don't Dangle Your Participle
Words and pictures show children what a dangling participle is all about. Young readers are shown an incorrect sentence that has in it a dangling participle. They are then taught how to make the sentence read correctly. It is done in a cute and humorous way. The dangling participle loses its way and the children learns how to help it find its way back to the correct spot in the sentence.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 9:00am

9:00am - 9:30am
Meet the Authors: Barry Araújo Kolman (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

El Lenguaje de la Música, Al Descubierto
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Shirley Duke (ABDO) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1071
Description :

Cells
Life on Earth is endlessly amazing and complex! This Core Library title follows the function of cells, how they’re made, and the English scientist, Robert Hooke, who discovered them. Full-color photos, a glossary, an index, sidebars, primary source documents, and other creative content enhance the book. It also includes prompts and activities that engage students in developing the reading, writing, and critical thinking skills required by the Common Core standards for grades 3–6. Well-researched, this title has a credentialed content consultant and aligns with state standards. Brought to you by Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Jenny Han (Simon & Schuster, Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 302-303
Description :

To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 3:30pm
Meet the Authors: Shelley Coriell (Hachette Book Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 423
Description :

The Broken
In the vein of Debra Webb and Karen Robards comes a gritty romantic suspense series from Shelley Coriell.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages