Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Saturday, June 28 - 9:30am

9:30am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Marilyn Singer (Disney-Hyperion) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 603
Description :

Rutherford B., Who Was He?
Forty-three men with forty-three passions, but with one thing in common: a presidential place in America's history. With her gift for unforgettable rhythm and innovative rhyme, Marilyn Singer brings the presidents of the United States to life—from Washington to Obama—and contextualizes them in their time. Illustrations by John Hendrix are full of hilarious wit and refined exuberance, and backmatter enriches the experience with short biographies, quotes by each president, and more.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 10:30am

10:30am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Juana Bordas (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

The Power of Latino Leadership

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Canh Tang (Red Rock Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1346
Description :

Timeless Vietnam
This volume introduces the vibrant photographs of Canh Tang. This is a collection capturing the timeless, exotic essence and beauty of Vietnam. The images dance as if they were in motion, seemingly stretching time before viewers' eyes.
Amplifying the pictures are snippets of Cao Dao, Vietnamese folk poetry in both the original Vietnamese and translated into English.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 6:00pm

6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Gail Jarrow (Boyds Mills Press/Highlights Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 569
Description :

RED MADNESS How a Medical Mystery Changed What We Eat

One hundred years ago, a mysterious disease called pellagra spread across the American South. No one knew what caused it or how to treat it. Millions of men, women, and children were left weak, disfigured, insane and in some cases, dead. Many were also left to worry -- would they be pellagra's next victims?

Author Gail Jarrow closely tracks this devastating disease using vivid photographs and actual cases, and she reveals the story of the doctors, researchers, and public health officials who struggled to stop the epidemic. STARRED REVIEWS -- School Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews!

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 4:00pm

4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meet the Authors: Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 430
Description :

Smile
Fiction

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 2:30pm
Meet the Authors: Mario Acevedo & Richard Kilborn (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Good Money Gone
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Tom Noll (Green Kids Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 638
Description :

Trash to Treasure Series, Creatively Recycling with L.T. - The Bicycle Fence
Little Tommy is not so little any more. He has outgrown his shoes, clothes and bicycle all in one summer! L.T. (as he is now called) longs for a brand new bike, but when his father builds him one from recycled junkyard parts, L.T. is embarrassed to ride it to school. Can he come up with a creative idea that not only gives him a good-as-new bike, but also provides a new fence for his yard… and helps save the planet in the process?

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: Jen Bryant & Melissa Sweet (Eerdmans Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 402
Description :

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus (free galleys)

For shy young Peter Mark Roget, books were the best companions -- and it wasn't long before he began writing his own book. But he didn't write stories; he wrote lists. Peter took his love for words and turned it to organizing ideas and finding exactly the right word to express just what he thought. His lists grew and grew, eventually turning into one of the most important reference books of all time. Readers will marvel at Roget's life, depicted through lyrical text and brilliantly detailed illustrations. This elegant book celebrates the joy of learning and the power of words.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Clete Barratt Smith (Disney-Hyperion) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 603
Description :

Magic Delivery ARCs
When two boys stumble upon a seemingly abandoned truckload of costumes, they think they have hit the jackpot. There's just one small catch: The costumes are bewitched.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 3:30pm
Meet the Authors: Annie Mary Pérez (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Clay Hills and Mud Pies
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: PJ Hoover (CBAY Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 477
Description :

The Emerald Tablet
Benjamin is different from other kids – he can read minds and use telekinesis. But it isn’t until he’s sent to summer school on a hidden underwater continent that he learns the truth. It turns out, Benjamin isn’t really human at all – and the powers he thought made him special, just make him normal. But the mysterious Emerald Tablet chooses him as its champion, and he’s thrust into a mission to save the world. Filled with mythology, adventure and super-powers, the Emerald Tablet is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Ben Thompson (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Guts & Glory: The American Civil War

From female spies fighting for the Rebel cause to daring cavalry rides deep into enemy territory, Civil War history is filled with fearless figures and incredible events. This invigorating overview for kids uses exciting art, illustrated maps, and colorful facts to entertain readers with stories of the legendary heroes and unlikely but totally true events that make up one of America's most fascinating conflicts. A history buff and Civil War reenactor, Ben Thompson brings the Civil War to life for young historians and reluctant students alike.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Mac Barnett (Chronicle Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 608
Description :

Telephone
In this witty picture book from award-winning and bestselling author Mac Barnett, a mother bird gives the bird next to her a message for little Peter. But passing messages on a telephone line isn’t as simple as it sounds. This uproarious interpretation of a favorite children’s game will get everyone giggling and is sure to lead to countless rereads.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 1:30pm

1:30pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Lucia De Garcia (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Building Bridges of Understanding - My Personal Quest for Unity and Peace
2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 4:00pm

4:00pm - 4:30pm
Meet the Authors: Sally Gardner (Macmillan Children's Publishing Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 523
Description :

Operation Bunny
When Emily Vole inherits an abandoned shop, she discovers a magical world she never knew existed. And a fairy-hating witch, a mischievous set of golden keys, and a train full of brightly colored bunnies are just a few of the surprises that come with it.

With the help of a talking cat called Fidget and a grumpy fairy detective called Buster, it is up to Emily to save the fairies and get to the bottom of Operation Bunny.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 12:00pm

12:00pm - 1:00pm
Meet the Authors: Mary McNear (HarperCollins Publishers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 502
Description :

Up at Butternut Lake

It’s been ten years since Allie Beckett crossed the threshold of her family cabin at Butternut Lake, Minnesota. Now, newly widowed after the death of her husband in Afghanistan, she’s returned with her five-year-old son.

There, she reconnects with two friends she had in childhood. What Allie doesn’t count on is a newcomer to Butternut Lake, Walker Ford.

This novel follows these four unforgettable characters across a single summer as they struggle with love, loss, and what it means to take risks, confront fears, and embrace life, in all of its excitement and unpredictability.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: V.E. Schwab (Tor-Forge Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 532
Description :

Vicious
A masterful, twisted tale of ambition, jealousy, betrayal, and superpowers, set in a near-future world.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: John Rocco (Disney-Hyperion) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 603
Description :

Super Hair-o and the Barber of Doom
John Rocco will also sign posters for his new book Blizzard. Based on John Rocco’s childhood experience during the Blizzard of 1978, this companion to BLACKOUT is the story of how one intrepid boy embarks on an expedition and becomes the hero of his neighborhood.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 10:30am

10:30am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Mary E. Pearson (Macmillan Children's Publishing Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 523
Description :

The Kiss of Deception
In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course.On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love. The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 422
Description :

Glory O'Brien's History of the Future

In this masterpiece about freedom, feminism, and destiny, Printz Honor author A.S. King tells the epic story of a girl coping with devastating loss at long last--a girl who has no idea that the future needs her, and that the present needs her even more.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages