Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Don Tate (Charlesbridge) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 557
Description :

The Cart that Carried Martin
The strength and spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. permeates this picture book about the funeral of Dr. King in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1968. Quiet, yet affecting, The Cart That Carried Martin is a unique tribute to the life of a man known world-wide for his outstanding efforts as a leader of the African-American Civil Rights Movement.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Kid Chef Eliana (Children's Plus Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 342
Description :

Cool Kids Cook: Fresh and Fit

Whip up nutritious meals with America's favorite kid chef! Wholesome, fresh, and flavorful ingredients are the focus in these tasty dishes. Children (and adults) can prepare these international recipes with ease.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Cathy Ace (TouchWood Editions / PGW) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 322
Description :

The Corpse With the Platinum Hair (#4 in the Cait Morgan Mystery Series)
The author will be signing free ARCs of the 4th book in the classic whodunit series in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Sue Grafton. Eccentric criminologist and foodie Cait Morgan and her significant other, retired cop Bud Anderson, travel to Las Vegas. As they dine in the casino owners’ exclusive private dining room, a woman acknowledged as Queen of The Strip, is murdered. Security locks down the room, and Cait, Bud, a corpse, and ten possible murderers are trapped for hours while the bodies pile up, the tension mounts, and the list of suspects dwindles....

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Monday, June 30 - 9:30am

9:30am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Elizabeth Wein (Disney-Hyperion) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 603
Description :

Rose Under Fire
The Schneider Family Book Award winner is a stunning novel about courage and friendship during WWII and is the companion to the critically acclaimed Code Name Verity.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Friday, June 27 - 6:00pm

6:00pm - 6:30pm
Meet the Authors: Kekla Magoon (Macmillan Children's Publishing Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 523
Description :

How It Went Down
When sixteen-year-old Tariq Johnson dies from two gunshot wounds, his community is thrown into an uproar. In the aftermath of Tariq's death, everyone has something to say, but no two accounts of the events line up. By the day, new twists and turns further obscure the truth.
In their own words, they grapple for a way to say with certainty: This is how it went down.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:30pm

3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meet the Authors: Nick Bruel (Children's Plus Inc.) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 342
Description :

Bad Kitty School Daze

When Kitty's owners have finally had enough of her bad behavior, it's time to ship her off to obedience school.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 2:30pm
Meet the Authors: Markus Zusak (Random House Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 543
Description :

The Book Thief
Winner of the 2014 Margaret Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievment!

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 4:00pm

4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meet the Authors: Kari Anne Holt (Chronicle Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 608
Description :

Rhyme Schemer
Kevin has a bad attitude. He’s the one who laughs when you trip and fall. But what happens when the tables are turned and he is the one getting picked on?

Rhyme Schemer is a touching middle-grade novel in verse about one seventh-grader’s journey from bully-er to bully-ee, as he learns about friendship, family, and the influence that words can have on your life.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Peter Sis (Macmillan Children's Publishing Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 522
Description :

The Pilot and the Little Prince
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry was born in France in 1900, when airplanes were just being invented. Antoine dreamed of flying and grew up to be a pilot—and that was when his adventures began. Peter Sís’s remarkable biography celebrates the author of The Little Prince, one of the most beloved books in the world.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: V.E. Schwab (Tor-Forge Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 532
Description :

Vicious
A masterful, twisted tale of ambition, jealousy, betrayal, and superpowers, set in a near-future world.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Sarah Ban Breathnach (Perseus Distribution) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 335
Description :

The Best Part of the Day

In her international bestseller Simple Abundance, Sarah Ban Breathnach inspired millions of women to find happiness in each day of their lives. Now Breathnach is back with her first children’s book: The Best Part of the Day. Beautifully illustrated and lyrically written, this “good night” story encourages children to find at least one moment in every day that is worthy of celebration. The Best Part of the Day is the perfect addition to any family’s nighttime routine.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: David Levithan (Random House Children's Books) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 543
Description :

Two Boys Kissing
2014 Stonewall Award Honor Book!

The Los Angeles Times called Two Boys Kissing "Open, frank and ultimately optimistic," and Entertainment Weekly gave the novel an A-. With Levithan's trademark sharp-witted, warm-hearted tales of teenage love, Two Boys Kissing will appeal to fans of Levithan's breakthrough debut, Boy Meets Boy, which celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2013.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Gregory Pergament (Consortium Book Sales & Distribution) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 343
Description :

Chi Kung in Recovery
Chi kung, the art of cultivating life force energy, is here distilled into a key selection of exercises designed to boost health and increase mind-body-spirit consciousness. For anyone interested in exercise with a deeper spiritual significance, this step-by-step guide takes readers through essential breathing, meditation, and mindfulness techniques that yield exponentially more powerful benefits than traditional exercise.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Yuyi Morales (Macmillan Children's Publishing Group) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 522
Description :

Nino Wrestles the World
Señoras y Señores, put your hands together for the fantastic, spectacular, one of a kind . . . Niño! Fwap! Slish! Bloop! Krunch! He takes down his competition in a single move! No opponent is too big a challenge for the cunning skills of Niño—popsicle eater, toy lover, somersault expert, and world champion lucha libre competitor!

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 10:30am

10:30am - 3:30pm
Meet the Authors: Lee Roderick (Probitas Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1348B
Description :

True Wealth The Vision and Genius of James LeVoy Sorenson
Journalist, News Director and Former President of the National Press Club has written the story of Jim Sorenson who was born into poverty to teenage parents, and labeled “mentally retarded” by his first school teacher. Yet he died a billionaire, widely regarded as a genius inventor and entrepreneur. The medical tools he invented, including the paper surgical mask and flexible catheters, are now used in hospitals across the globe.

Launching 2015
ProbitasPress.com

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Bonnie S Mata (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Just A Kiss

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 29 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: K.G.Campbell (Kids Can Press) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 650
Description :

Lester's Dreadful Sweaters
K.G. Campbell is the illustrator of the Newbery Medal-winning Flora and Ulysses.

A fastidious fellow, Lester likes everything just so. So when Cousin Clara moves in and knits him truly dreadful sweaters as fast as he can surreptitiously dispose of them, Lester must think of a way to get rid of them for good — or be doomed to look like a clown forever.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 27 - 4:30pm

4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meet the Authors: Linda L. Ernst (ALA Store) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

Baby Rhyming Time
The renowned authority on library services for the very youngest patrons has done it again! Linda Ernst has created programming based on the most important findings in babies' brain development. This new resource is full of activities that stimulate infants' and toddlers' cognitive, physical, and emotional growth.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, June 28 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:30pm
Quirky Books for Quirky Librarians Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
N252
Description :

A panel of authors who have stepped around, through, and outside of the box will discuss their wonderfully offbeat subjects in this popular program. Authors will sign copies of their books following the program. Authors include Ben Parzybok, Jennifer Holland, Ian Doesher, Andrew Mayne, Liz Climo, and Caitlin Dougherty. Moderated by Barbara Hoffert, editor of Library Journal's Prepub Alert.

Saturday, June 28 - 11:00am

11:00am - 11:30am
Meet the Authors: Lidia Morris & Luis A Rosado (Latino Literacy Now) Author Event Las Vegas Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 2110
Description :

Desarrollo del Español para Maestros en Programas de Educación Bilingüe

2014 Int'l Latino Book Awards winner

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages